MISS YOU MUMMY

My little boy Riley is two. His language is just taking off and he is pretty pleased with himself. Yesterday he climbed up onto my lap and gave me a cuddle. “Miss you Mummy!” he said as he hugged me. In line with his “game” I replied “Miss you Riley!”. He then smiled because that was his cue to swoon his favourite line to me “Miss you tooooooooo!” with a big grin and a giggle.

I had been playing along with this little dialogue for a while when I realised I needed to set him straight. “Riley, you don’t need to miss me my love, because I am right here!” He looked at me and processed what I was saying and then jumped down to play. Not sure if he took it in but as soon as I heard the words that came out of my mouth, I realised that the message I spoke was more for me than for my son.

If we can firstly accept the continuing existence of our loved ones in spirit, in the most real of real ways, and then relax and be calm enough to actually sit in the stillness and try to perceive their presence, we will realise that we don’t need to miss those who have gone before us as much as before. We can call their name and wait to feel them with us. They are still there. No we can’t see them. No we can’t hug them or kiss them or hear their voices, but if we fully realise that they are alongside us in spirit, we don’t need to miss them in the overwhelming way we did before but instead embrace their new form and soak up their beautiful true love and powerful support they still have for us.

I have a little book on amazon that may help ease your grief and uplift your spirits. It is 99 cents. Brightest blessings. Erica xx

Image

Leave a comment